Jim Pattison named as IAAPA Second Vice Chair

The board of directors of IAAPA, the global association for the attractions industry, elected 11 new board members for 2020, including Jim Pattison, Jr., ICAE, as second vice chair, during its meeting on Sept. 16 in Paris, France. Pattison is president of Ripley Entertainment. He will serve as first vice chair in 2021 and lead the association as chairman of the board in 2022.

“Jim is a highly respected industry veteran with a proven track record of success leading Ripley Entertainment and has been a dedicated, long-term IAAPA volunteer,” said John McReynolds, chairman, IAAPA Governance Committee, and senior vice president, external affairs, Universal Parks & Resorts. “I’m confident Jim, along with IAAPA’s newly appointed international board members, will have a positive impact on the association and will help shape its future.”

Pattison serves as president of Ripley Entertainment, a long-standing IAAPA member and global operator of more than 100 attractions in 10 countries, including aquariums, museums, haunted attractions, wax museums, sightseeing train tours, family entertainment centers (FECs), miniature golf courses, traveling shows, and retail. He has volunteered and shared his expertise on numerous IAAPA Committees including Executive Finance, Strategic Planning, Amusement Parks and Attractions, Government Relations, North America Regional Advisory, Membership, and Small Parks and Attractions.


In 2017, the IAAPA board of directors presented a special IAAPA Service Award to Pattison, and the staff of Ripley Entertainment, for their outstanding service to IAAPA during the global headquarters relocation to Orlando, Florida. Pattison and the Ripley Entertainment corporate headquarters team provided the IAAPA team with temporary office and meeting space along with support and assistance throughout the move.

In addition to the election of Pattison as second vice chair, the following IAAPA members were appointed to serve the association on its board of directors in 2020:


Facility Member Directors

  • Fernando Aldecoa, general manager, PortAventura Entertainment, Spain
  • Massimiliano Freddi, ICAE, CEO, Wonderwood, Italy
  • Xavier Lopez Ancona, founder and CEO, KidZania, Mexico
  • Tony Yuhung Sze, ICAE, group senior counselor, Chimelong Group Co., Ltd., China
  • Laura Woodburn, ICAE, managing director, attractions and the employee and guest experience, Hersheypark, United States


Manufacturer and Supplier Member Director

  • Chloe James Hausfeld, ICAL, director, marketing and business development, Jack Rouse Associates, United States


Advisory Board Director

  • Darrell Metzger, ICAE, adjunct professor, Signature Management University, United States


EMEA Regional Advisory Committee Chair

  • Miikka Seppala, CEO, Särkänniemi Theme Park, Finland


North America Regional Advisory Committee Chair

  • Ted Molter, ICAE, chief marketing officer, San Diego Zoo Global, United States



  • Curt Caffey, ICAE, president of water parks division, ProParks Management, United States
You might also like